Other than Fireball, What's the best spell for cooking?
Other than Fireball, What's the best spell for cooking?
Remember to always check creative uses of spells with your DM.
Other than Fireball, What's the best spell for cooking?
Remember to always check creative uses of spells with your DM.
You're viewing a single thread.
You can only make one object. I could understand if it was a big pot of soup, but I don't see how this counts as one object.
Here's how I'd use Fabricate to cook:
This presents several problems.
I don't see a sage advice on this issue specifically but Crawford has answered "can you make a full set of artisans tools with a casting of fabricate" with yes - and most sets of tools aren't "one object" either...
Remember to check creative uses of your spells with your DM. Your DM is at risk and your DM can go down as well as up, and you may not get back all the DM that you put in.
If it's on a single line on a chart in the PHB, it's one object.
In this case, Aristocratic level meals for a day is a single line on a chart in the PHB, so we're good.
But then so is a level 20 wizard.
The Bard has his own spell for that one ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
It may take 18.75 or more years though, depending on species.
Your argument is that a banquet is multiple items and your solution is making plate mail?
It really shouldn't be, but the game treats it as one. For example, the Cleric Forge's Channel Divinity blessing.
You conduct an hour-long ritual that crafts a nonmagical item that must include some metal: a simple or martial weapon, a suit of armor, ten pieces of ammunition, a set of tools, or another metal object.
This is more specific than the general rule
For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.
So in the case of armor, it counts as one object even though it's not a discrete item. But unless there's something calling a feast one object, it follows these rules.
If you allow a feast, what doesn't count as "one object"?
If it were my game, I'd argue that fabricate creates an object out of raw materials, with the same skill as the caster, (if I recall the text correctly, masterwork items can't be created unless the caster has the skill required to craft one). In my mind, fabricate replaces the tools and time required to create the object, but not the skill. I'd say that you could use fabricate to make a meal, even a large one, but it would not be a banquet unless the caster was also a proficient chef.
Also, I think all the items come out at room or ambient temp, you can't use fabricate to create a superheated iron sphere that sets everything nearby on fire. So the food would be "cold" in my opinion.